The Department of Mathematics is established in the same year of the establishment of the college i.e. in 1930 on 10th October. The founder teacher was Late Phanidhar Datta father of eminent mathematician and writer Dr. Dilip Kumar Datta. In 1938 he left J.B. College and joined in Cotton College. Between 1938 and 1960 many renown mathematicians of Assam served in this department. They include Dr. Hiralal Baishya, Binoy Kumar Tamuly, Parasuram Dutta, Debeswar Pathak, Laxmi Narayan Sapru, Ramani Baruah, Brajendra Kumar Biswas, P.K. Kutti, Praneswar Pathak etc. All of them had great contributions in establishing this department. Honours course in Mathematics was started in 1965.

Jagannath Barooah College (Autonomous)
Barpatra Ali, Jorhat-785001
Assam, India
Phone: +91 376 3510156
Email:  jbcollege@rediffmail.com
Get in touch
Visiting JBC

Connect with us

Don't have an account yet? Register Now!

Sign in to your account